jump to navigation

PRINTED — 3D part now printed and ready to use February 21, 2013

Posted by rik94566 in aquaponics, arduino, Rj45 connector, Sketch-UP.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Well it has been a journey to print my first 3D item.  Here it is.

Front View of RJ-45 Socket

Front View of RJ-45 Socket

Here is a view of printed socket with parts that will actually be use in the final product and compared to my proto-type.

Printed part next to proto-type

Printed part next to prototype

Here is the actual cost break-down on the printing:

Printing costs

Printing costs

Now for the killer:  SHIPPING —-

The item was shipped from Oakland, CA to where I live only about 35 miles and went out UPS.  The thing weighs less than an oz or two!

ponoko shipping

Total came to $20.45.  At this rate the cost of a 3D printer is well within reach in the near future.  With all the things I want to create and print I can keep a 3D printer busy most of every day.

Comments»

1. Jason - February 21, 2013

I am really getting into this DS18B20 temp sensor.. So this blog has been very helpful in giving me some ideas. Just a tip though, There are many places online that you can get RJ45 inserts for much cheaper… at the rate you were paying at about 5$ each, I have found them in the usa for around $2 each free shipping (ebay) probably cheaper if you look around. If you dont mind waiting a few weeks you can get them for about 37 cents each through aliexpress but you would have to buy in qty of 100..

A few things I have been wondering, is how far can I have my temp sensor from my micro controller? I am planning on having a separate wire for power, and will also being using cat-5 with a cat-5 splitter off a main line

rik94566 - February 22, 2013

Jason – Thanks for the comment. I have purchased RJ45 inserts off the internet now and still working of inventory. My needs have been limited to need an insert go to Home Depot and get it. Once I scale up on my systems I will for sure be getting everything at better price points.

I have run around 15′ cables with the DS18B20’s and that has been on Cat-5 cable. Never done the splitter cable thing, so don’t know how that will work for you. Keep up the good work and let me know if you have a blog or website I would like to see your work.

2. Erich - July 2, 2013

Can you share who printed this for you? The price seems really resonable.

rik94566 - July 9, 2013

Erich – had it printed by Ponoko here is there link:

https://www.ponoko.com/

You might want to check out this site:

http://www.makexyz.com/

makexyz – get your model printed in your neighborhood

I am going to give it a try and should cut my cost on future parts


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

