jump to navigation

POW-Rduino revisited October 24, 2010

Posted by rik94566 in arduino, DIY aquaponics, POW-Rduino.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

A year ago I create a project for an Instructables contest using an Arduino.  I came up with the POW-Rduino.  I would use it to test my prototypes and arduino sketches.  At the time I based my design on the work done by Luke Iseman’s “The Garduino – Garden Controller”.  He build a relay to control the water pump in his system.  I wanted to duplicate his project so I could learn how to use relays and develop sketches for the arduino for my projects.  So my first project was the POW-Rduino:

http://www.instructables.com/id/POW-Rduino-testing-tool/step16/CONNECT-ARDUINO-TO-THE-POW-Rduino/

The performance of the unit was not good.  So I moved the POW-Rduino to the do later projects box.

First of the year (2010) I found what looked like a relay that would be able to replace the weakest  part of my unit.

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/electronic-brick-5v-relay-module-digital-p-479.html?cPath=48_53

I had a hard time understanding how the thing worked.  So I wrote an instructable about it:

http://www.instructables.com/id/SEEED-Studio-Arduino-5V-Relay-module-Digita/

What I learned on this project was very helpful and allowed me to re-construct the POW-Rduino with the new relay brick and the unit performs each and every time on a consistent basis.

Here is thedifference in the  relays:

Difference in relays

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next came the re-design of the front panel.  The new relay had a signal connection for each relay.  So I had to make room for this item in the design on the front panel.

NEW vs OLD design

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

