jump to navigation

LED light order came March 11, 2011

Posted by rik94566 in Duckweed, indoor aquaponics, indoor duckweed growing, indoor gardens, indoor growing, LED growing, LED lights, sunshine systems.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I have been looking for an LED light source to play around with.  It came today.  It has gotten good reviews and does not generate any heat while operating.  I was surprised how light in weight is was.  It is easy to connect and will be fun to work with on my new portable system that I have in my garage.  I will be blogging about that soon.  Good thing tomorrow is Friday, I will have the weekend to get it mounted and get started on my duckweed growing.

Comments»

1. Geek2PMHNP (@Geek2Nurse) - August 8, 2013

I’m curious to know what you plan to do with your duckweed. I can’t seem to NOT grow the stuff in my greenhouse AP system (http://byap.backyardmagazines.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=13760&sid=e2af60818cae1919fbab118082a18953), so finding uses for it might be helpful. 🙂 I thought my tilapia would eat it, but either there aren’t enough of them, or they don’t find it as appetizing as I had hoped!

rik94566 - August 16, 2013

Not really doing anything with the duckweed. I was testing the use of LED lights on it. Wanted to see if it would multiply under the LED’s. I am looking at a plant model that requires about the same light requirement as the duckweed without a major commitment of space. My Koi eat the duckweed like candy so never can reach any kind of critical mass with it in the tanks. Also duckweed grows best in calm waters. I turn my water over to much for it to become well established. As for your tilapia eating the duckweed. I don’t have experience with Tilapia as they are illegal in Northern California, but have read and heard people talking that tilapia need to be trained to eat it. No real experience with it though.


Leave a Reply

