jump to navigation

DS18B20 – Stainless Steel Temp Probes – Build vs Buy April 23, 2011

Posted by rik94566 in aquaponic automation, aquaponics, arduino, DIY aquaponics, indoor aquaponics, indoor growing, Stainless Steel Temp Probe, Standards, Temperature Probe, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Knowing tempetures in aquaponics is very important. I track outside temp, media temp in center of grow bed, media temp at top of grow bed and fish tank temp. I do this for each grow bed. I track this so I know the impact it has on DO (dissolved oxygen) and what I can grow and when. Case in point, once my media temps goes over about 72 degrees F my Cilantro bolts (goes to a flowering state) not good.

Being this is aquaponics it is important to use only stainless steel item in systems or fish encounter problems. There are a number of DS18B20 probes being produced, but the majority are in a steel case.

Not finding any stainless steel probes I resorted to building my own. Very labor intensive process. Lots of time in sourcing parts, manufacture of the tube casing, testing each step in the process. Total cost of each probe came to around $7.50 not counting my time which came to about an hour per probe.

I was reading another blog about arduino and found a new site called http://www.yourduino.com. Decided to check it out. It looked good so I checked out the sensor section, there they were – the probe I had been looking for and at the right price. Needless to say I place my first order. They came, I hooked them up tested them and now I have a new source of reliable Stainless Steel temp probes.

I will be blogging about the connection process and testing and about pulling off the HEX code of each probe. This is important stuff when working with one-wire protocol. This is now my new standard to be used.

Comments»

1. Terry King - April 27, 2011

Hi Rik,

A pointer to more how-to information on these temperature sensors:
http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/Brick-Temperature-DS18B20

Thanks for sharing your ideas and designs with us!

Regards, Terry King

terry@yourduino.com

2. World Of Tanks Gold Hack - July 20, 2013

This is my first time go to see at here and i am really pleassant to read everthing at single place.


Leave a Reply

