jump to navigation

Cilantro — aquaponics June 4, 2011

Posted by rik94566 in aquaponics, arduino, Cilantro, Crop, DIY aquaponics.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I have read on a lot of blogs how hard cilantro is to grow when you start from seed.  So I thought I would give it a try.  I was planning to redesign my unit by mid summer so I only want a crop the would time out by then.  Cilantro was the perfect choice as when temperatures go over 70 degrees the plants will bolt (start to flower).  That is OK in my case as I wanted to see what the flowers look like and if the plants would generate seeds.  Cilantro seeds are called Coriander spice.  To get it all going I purchased a package of cilantro seed from Johnny Seeds.  All I did was open the package and spread out in the gravel bed and move the gravel around to cover up the seeds.  You  can see below my results.  I think Cilantro does well in the aquaponic environment.

Ciltantro 6 weeks growth from seed

Different view of 6 week growth

10 week growth from seed

Comments»

1. Terry King - June 4, 2011

Hi Rik,
Ok, my wife wants me to get this and a few other herbs going ASAP when we get back to Vermont in a couple of weeks. (Nothing much grows here in the desert in Saudi Arabia!)..

Can you point to a good overall reference, online and/or book on Aquaponics?? I need an overall view to understand it better…

Regards, Terry King
terry@yourduino.com

2. rik94566 - June 5, 2011

Terry,

aquaponics would work fine in Saudi Arabia, as long as you could fine some goldfish and seeds of what ever you want to grow. When you and your wife get to Vermont you could get a system going in short order and could have herbs by mid summer. Here are some websites that will get you going.

http://www.fastonline.org/content/view/15/29
http://www.aquaponics.net.au/

I think the best book for you is the one at the this site below. It will not be available until October, but will be well worth the wait. There are a number of groups and individuals that try to sell solutions and information, but a lot of it is just junk. The sites I listed are the thought leaders in aquaponics.

This the site for a new book being published:
http://www.theaquaponicstore.com/

3. http://shawishjewellery.com/ - July 21, 2013

Great information. Lucky me I ran across your site
by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve book marked it for later!


Leave a Reply

