jump to navigation

Keeping track of my Probes (DS18B20) September 8, 2011

Posted by rik94566 in aquaponic automation, aquaponics, CAT 5 Cable, CEA, Controlled Environment Agriculture, DIY aquaponics, DS18B20, indoor aquaponics, indoor gardens, indoor growing, Sensor Hub, Stainless Steel Temp Probe, Standards, Temperature Probe.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

As I expand the number of probes that I am installing I need a way to track which probe is which.  When I first started I would wrap white tape around the outside of a probe on the wire lead and use a water proof marker and give the probe a index number.  Since I needed different lengths of wire leads and the fact that the wire is placed in water and under gravel situations the tape idea did not work to well.  So next best thing was to engrave the Stainless Steel probe ends with an index number.  This solved my problem in tracking each probe.

Dremel engraving tool and temp probe

engraved probe - need more practice - but getting better now

Comments»

1. Keeping track of my Probes (DS18B20) « Aquaponic DIY … | Free Aquaponics Tips - September 8, 2011

[…] more here: Keeping track of my Probes (DS18B20) « Aquaponic DIY … ← DIY Aquaponics. Grow Your Own Food! | What Is Hydroponics? Training Begins for Haiti […]


Leave a Reply

