jump to navigation

DS18B20 HEX code — where to keep it all October 18, 2011

Posted by rik94566 in 1-wire, aquaponic automation, aquaponics, arduino, CEA, Controlled Environment Agriculture, DIY aquaponics, DS18B20, HEX code, indoor aquaponics, manymoon, One-wire, probe index, sensor, Sensor Hub, Stainless Steel Temp Probe, Temperature Probe.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

At the present time I am working with over 35 temp probes and that number will be growing as I add more aquaponic systems.  Since I have been engraving each probe with a specific probe number it was easy to associate the HEX code with the probe number.  The question became  —  where to keep this information.  I established an index of all my probe information.  When I first started I kept the index in google notebook and that gave me a lot of flexibility in looking at the index and interacting with it.  I could get to the index from just about any number of devises.  Since google has determined that they will no longer support notebook and will move all the information contained in google notebook to google doc format, that was not going to work for me any longer.  I had to find a different format for my probe index.  I had read about and started using a new product called Manymoon ( they have a free version).  It is a simple task management cloud product with a lot of functionality.  I needed a product like this any way as I needed away to help me track and stay on task with the projects that I have underway presently.

Here is what my index looks like:

Probe Index

I can expand the individual probe information and add any amount of additional information about the probe in the detail section and attatch links – documents – files to the reference.  Great stuff.

Here is what it looks like:

Probe Detail Section

This solution works great for me.  If you are only working with a small number of probes, you might not need this level of detail.  But if you are going to work with a lot of probes you will need to address this issue and find a solution that will be easy to use and find probe information quickly.

Comments»

1. DS18B20 HEX code — where to keep it all « Aquaponic DIY … | Free Aquaponics Tips - October 19, 2011

[…] aquaponics, manymoon, One-wire, probe index, sensor, … … Go here to read the rest: DS18B20 HEX code — where to keep it all « Aquaponic DIY … ← New Raft Aquaponics System at Vancouver Island University | Basil Central NY Aquaponic […]

2. catering warszawa - November 10, 2011

Its like you read my own thoughts! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or some thing. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is exactly superb blog site. A great read. I will absolutely be back again.

rik94566 - November 10, 2011

Thanks – just working at understanding how to get all these sensors working without having to be dependent on other people all the time. Once I understand it I can fix things myself. Along the way others can learn from my mistakes and successes. Thanks for your kind comments it lets me know others are having some of the same problems I have had.

3. Domain Name Registrar - June 26, 2013

Howdy I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by error,
while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here
now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and
a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I
have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent jo.


Leave a Reply

