jump to navigation

RJ-45 Jack insert development using Sketch-Up January 12, 2013

Posted by rik94566 in aquaponic automation, aquaponics, arduino, DIY aquaponics, Rj45 connector.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Being that I have gone with RJ-45 jacks as a standard for all my aquaponics systems I need a way to connect everything together.  The problem I was having is that all the jack insert plates are standard switch plate or phone jack block mounting units and hard to fit into some automation designs.  So I built a prototype of what I wanted out of materials I had laying around my shop.  It is very rough and not the finished product I was looking for.

RJ-45 Jack head on arduino case

RJ-45 Jack head on arduino case

This prototype gave me a good idea of what I needed to make this work and is a good starting platform for future cases to work with my systems that I have on the drawing board.  I had been looking for a project to help me learn Sketch-Up.  Sketch-up is a 3-D drawing program to do design work with and allows models developed to be printed on 3-D printers.  So here I go to make this happen.  I am not going to go into all the steps needed on how to install or use Sketch-Up here (you will need to figure this out on your own).

So the most basic element of the project is the individual RJ-45 insert jack.  Next step was to get a visual of what this would look like in the real world.  I need to visualize my projects before I can build them.  The first step was to figure out how I could get a handle on a working model.  I started with a single RJ-45 switch plate and moved forward from there.  All of this I purchased at Home Depot.

Starting Point for visual model

A Starting Point for visual model

This now gave me a working model that I could pull measurements from.  This proved to be harder than I thought and has taken me well over 6 months to get working.  I have had many starts and stops when I have hit learning curve deficits.   In other words me lacking the Sketch-Up skills to pull this project off.  I have done a lot of work with VISIO in the past.  But, when you jump from a 2-D drawing tools to 3-D drawing programs the learning curve is steep and well worth the effort as you will see in future posts.   At least I think so.

Cut away view of the jack insert socket

Cut away view of the jack insert socket

Visual of the size I am working with for this model

Visual of the size I am working with for this model

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

