jump to navigation

What is an aquaponic device for IoT-aquaponics June 11, 2013

Posted by rik94566 in agponics.com, aquaponic automation, DIY aquaponics, DS18B20, Float Switch, IoT aquaponics, One-wire.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Aquaponic devices can come in many sizes and shapes.  There are simple and complex devices as with all technologies.

The most simple aquaponic device would be a temp probe connected up to an Arduino with the data generated being sent out to a Cloud service like Xively/Cosm/Pachube or ThingSpeak via ethernet or wireless connection.

I am working on a more complex aquaponic device right now that will contain the following sensor set:

pH sensor

3 – DS18B20 probes

1 – Flow meter

3 – media sensors

1 – Float Switch

1 – Humidity and Temp probe (DHT-22)

3 – gravity feed valves controlled by relays

1 – air pump controlled by relay (in N/O) configuration

1 – back-up air pump that turns on if electric goes out

1 – heater controlled by relays driven by temp reading being generated by the DS18B20 probes.

This device will be my proto-type to test sensor configurations and try new sensors out.  It will allow me to gain an understanding of how all this IoT technology comes together and can actually perform work with out me having to constantly watch my system.  I would like to be in Hawaii and just have my iPhone alert me when an event is out of range.  Then I could make the necessary adjustments over my Aquaponic API software and be done with it while at the beach.

Comments»

1. Martin Dodds - July 21, 2013

Dear Rik Kretzinger, I have watched the; ‘Internet of Farming: Arduino-based, backyard aquaponics’ video by ‘kirstendirksen’ on Youtube and became Interested in your PVC prototype pipe-tower. I would like to obtain a few of these to grow strawberries in around my space-restricted garden. Please can you tell me how you went about manufacturing the planter and the materials involved including the former and the spacing between each insert?

rik94566 - July 23, 2013

Martin – got your message. I will email you with some general details regarding the construction of the Towers I have created. I will be sending you it from my commercial account so be looking for it from rik@agponics.com.


Leave a Reply

