jump to navigation

THE WAY FORWARD — use of HEX code for DS18B20 October 6, 2011

Posted by rik94566 in 1-wire, aquaponic automation, aquaponics, arduino, Arduino Your Environment, Controlled Environment Agriculture, DIY aquaponics, DS18B20, indoor aquaponics, indoor gardens, indoor growing, Links, One-wire, Temperature Probe.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

It became clear to me that the path I was on was leading me to a deadend when it comes to using a large number of DS18B20 probes.  The sketches I was working with had problems for me.  A number of comments and suggestions from readers along with research on my part I have figured out that the use of HEX code is the way to go. This new direction will get me to the end now.  This seems to be the most traveled path when it comes to the DS18B20 platform.  The best work I can find going this direction comes from two main sites. The first site Hacktronics.com has some very good tutorials on this subject.  The second site is a spin off of the Hacktronics site in that the same code is used, but changed to be output to a LCD display (very useful stuff).  These two sites will be very useful for me going forward and will enable me to finish-up on the Temp probe side of things and will allow me to move on to the others sensors I have been working with.

The first is:

http://www.hacktronics.com/Tutorials/arduino-1-wire-tutorial.html

Second site:

http://arduinotronics.blogspot.com/2010/12/two-ds18b20-temp-sensors-on-lcd-display.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+arduinotronics+%28Arduino+Your+Environment%29&utm_content=Google+Feedfetcher

Comments»

1. Liza Cecchi - October 14, 2011

Really intriguing content articles. I enjoyed reading through it.

2. Gabriel Presiado - October 14, 2011

What a super blog! to much info and a very short life hehehehe keep it up, good work

3. Josegn - November 3, 2011

This is such a great source that you are providing as distinctly as you give it away totally free. I take pleasure in seeing websites that take in the merit of offering a crucial resource freely . I truly loved reading your post. Thanks!

Before I go, allow me thank you for your patience with my English as (I am sure you have become aware this at this moment ,), English is not my first language thus I am utilizing Google Translate to form out what to jot down what I actually mean to voice.


Leave a comment